Boothbay Region Refuse and Disposal District (BRRDD) serves the towns of Boothbay, Boothbay Harbor, Edgecomb and Southport. Each town appoints members to create a Board of Directors. The district was established in 1986, and a transfer station was constructed in 1987. Both tax dollars and user fees pay for the waste disposal costs. The district sends compacted solid waste to the Penobscot Energy Recovery Company, and sends construction and demolition debris to the Waste Management Landfill. A recycling facility and wood-chipper was built on-site in 1990. In 2005, the District purchased hauling trucks, and no longer contracts with other private haulers for waste.

BRRDD Hours:
October 15-April 15: Monday-Saturday 8-4, Closed Sundays
April 16-October 14: Monday-Saturday 8-5, Closed Sundays